Northern Territory

The Baha’is of the Northern Territory are actively engaged in neighbourhood community development activities that are open to all regardless of faith or background.

This includes providing spiritual empowerment programs for junior youth aged 11-14, spiritual education classes for children, gatherings that strengthen the devotional life of the community, and study circles on spiritual themes.
There are well-established Baha’i communities in Darwin, Palmerston, and Alice Springs, which is the biggest in the Territory.  Smaller groups and individual Baha’is can be found elsewhere in the Territory.
One long-running community activity is the inter-faith service to commemorate United Nations Day, often held at Parliament House and attended by dignitaries and guests.
The Baha’i community of the Northern Territory dates back to the 1940s. Its first members were Alex McLeod, who had become a Baha’i in New Guinea during World War 2, and Ruth Sinclair, who joined the Baha’i Community in Darwin in 1957. The first Aboriginal person to become a Baha’i was Alice Doran in 1962.
The Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is of Darwin was formed in 1961. Despite the transient population of the Northern Territory, the Assembly has continued to function through changing times and fortunes, including the devastation of Cyclone Tracy in 1974. The Spiritual Assembly of Alice Springs was formed in 1977.